Old Fashioned Girl

March 30, 2014 · 1 comment

What’s it about?
Polly is very excited to visit her friend Nancy in the “big” city but everything is different there than what she is used to. Polly is a sweet girl raised by kind, godly and simple parents. She was taught to be modest, kind, loving and everything that is good in a young woman. At first she is excited to go and stay at her friend’s house for a couple months, but when she and Nancy met they were in the country where Polly lives. Nancy’s world is much different from her own, and Polly must strive to honor God while still trying to fit in to this new place.

Emma’s Thoughts:
-It was very interesting how after the first quarter of the book, it skipped until years later, almost as if the first bit was a very long introduction.

Good things:
-If you like Alcott’s other famous book “Little Women” you will most likely enjoy “Old Fashioned Girl”.
-Polly is a good example of a godly young women. She was in the world, but not of it. Even though her friend was doing things she was not comfortable with, she respectfully did not take part. But she also had struggles and made mistakes like anyone else.

-I rated it at 11+ because much of the plot revolves around romance and courtship.
-Nancy and her friends do flirt in certain scenes.

eScore (?)
eAge (?)
Fiction, Friendship, Historical Fiction, Humor
Louisa May Alcott
1st World Library – Literary Society (January 1, 2006)
How can I get it?

Bookmark and Share

{ 1 comment }

Kingdom Dawn

February 20, 2014

What’s it about? Lenaid was content with his life living with his father on their farm. However, the good King had other plans for the young man. Lenaid was chosen. After his father was brutally killed by the King’s enemy, he appointed Lenaid to rally his people. With his friend and closest companion Tess, he [...]

Read the full article →

Dragon Slippers

January 1, 2014

What’s it about? Orphaned Creel’s slightly crazy and impoverished aunt devises a plan to become rich. When she sends Creel to a supposed dragon’s den in the hope that a prince will come to save and marry her, Creel decides it is time to leave. When she is deposited in front of the dragon’s cave [...]

Read the full article →

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

December 20, 2013

What’s it about? Since the cabin they usually rent in the summer has been sold The Penderwicks have to quickly find somewhere else to spend the summer! But that is not too hard for this easy-going family of six (including the dog, Hound). There is Mr. Penderwick, the botanist who often speaks Latin (much to [...]

Read the full article →

13 Gifts

September 24, 2013

What’s it about? Tara Brennan usually never gets in big trouble and her parents are very forgiving… but this time, not so much! Under peer-pressure, she steals the principal’s stuffed goat (long story), and as punishment she can’t go to Africa with her parents like they planned (another long story), which all means she has [...]

Read the full article →